We started the new curriculum, Engraving Heavenly Truths. We are studying a Survey of the Old Testament. The flashcards have been more fun than I expected. Of course, I believe that may have something to do with having hubby to study with. We have tested each other using the flashcards and I am beginning to see how this program can help home bible study. The cards often lead to questions and further study on the subject. I think it is important to emphasize using the cards as a jumping off point. We must look further than the facts to find the meaning. Also, we have started the Teacher Training class on Wednesday nights. In this class, we are studying the New Testament in order to prepare ourselves for teaching a Survey of the New Testament. As you can see, my husband and I are quite busy. It has been a bit overwhelming. Naturally, if one isn’t teaching this would not be the case. One would only be studying one subject at a time, instead of two. I have been surprised to learn just how much I learned as a child and how much I still remember. One of my concerns at the beginning was the idea that we not use crafts in class. I enjoy crafts and believe that they can be used as teaching tools. However, we only have a limited amount of time in class and that can make crafts difficult. This material does, however, encourage the use of pictures, games, props, and even puppets. The main idea to keep in mind is to keep as much time as possible focused on the bible study. I believe I can work within these parameters and I am looking forward to learning more and seeing the program unfold. I will share my thoughts and insights as we go along as well as any ideas for games, etc.

